Nerd News 11/8/12

Green Arrow: Year One

Green Arrow: Year One (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

DC goes Digital

Well my fellow comic book enthusiasts we no longer have to leave our housed and brave the sunshine and fresh air. DC now offers all there titles for digital download.

That’s right my friends *read Triumphantly*, no longer will we have to deal with the harshness of talking to someone one on one as we say “ Don’t put that in a bag I’ll carry it myself,” no my friends today we are free.

I’m only joking of course.  This is a pretty big deal. DC has been a leader for digital comic since the new 52, and had made some titles for comics and graphic novels available to e-readers, now every title will be available.  This will help in the comic book industry’s push to get new readers and ever bring some of the old ones back. A draw back is that they will only be available with the big 3 e-book stores, being the Kindle store, iBookstore, and Nook store.

Jim Lee, Co-publisher for DC Entertainment said:

“As e-readers and tablets continue to explode in popularity it’s important for for us to offer consumers convenience and choice in how they download digital comics and graphic novels and these new distribution deals with the top three e-bookstores do just that.”

Yes they do Mr. Lee, yes they do.

Superman’s 3D treatment

To the dismay of many once excited fans it looks like the man of steel with be getting the 3D and Imax treatment. As stated in a press release from Burbank, CA, Director Zack Snyder says, “the film is going to be visually exciting in all formats… Anticipating how audiences today  embrace 3D, we designed and photographed the movie in a way that would allow ‘Man of Steel’ to captivate those movie goers.”

Does this really surprise anyone?

I am a big superman fan, and I have been excited about this movie ever since I heard about it over a year ago. True I’m not particularly excited about this myself, however I don’t have to watch it in 3D, despite everybody’s bitching about that is still an option.  Wether it’s in 3D or not I will be there opening night to see this movie. Besides, I just assume all superhero movies will be in 3D anyways.

Arrow review

For this first installment I wanted to do something special. I’m going to giv e you my review of the Arrow on the CW.

For anyone who might not know. Arrow is a TV Show on the CW, that is based on the Green Arrow from DC entertainment.

It takes, place in an alternate universe like many of these things do. So they don’t want anybody to be super powered. Which seems to be a really good choice for the show,  the overall look and feel of the show is a little reminiscent of Nolan’s batman.

Stephen Amell takes on the role of Oliver Queen. I’ll admit I have never seen him in anything else, and I think thats a shame. I find his acting fantastic, and character great. He is really good at getting to the deep dark point that arrow needs to be, and then bouncing back to Oliver.

Amell has a great cast of supporting actors, which include Paul Blackthorne, thats right Dresden himself, and Date Cassidy as Laurel Lance.  But one I can’t forget about is John Barrowman, Yep captain jack from Dr. Who.

The Stories stay close to the source material, the show itself is very well done, and the actors do a fantastic job.  My rating is 4.5 out of 5.

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by wwayne on April 23, 2013 - 9:05 pm

    Green Arrow is my favorite New 52 series (along with Animal Man and Vibe). Are you reading it?

    • #2 by pwetzig on April 23, 2013 - 10:42 pm

      Green Arrow and the Question are tied for my favorite hero! I have read some of the New 52 Green Arrow, and I have to say I’m a little disappointed in the writing and art team they have on it right now.

      • #3 by wwayne on April 24, 2013 - 8:42 am

        Green Arrow has been awful until the 17th issue, when Lemire started writing it. Three issues written by Lemire have been released so far, and all of them have been pure awesomeness. Thank you for following me and for your reply! : )

Leave a Reply

