Interview-Joe Martino. The Mightiest of Titans!

Do you like comic books?  If you’re reading this I’m sure you do! You know who else does? Joe Martino!

Joe Martino.

Joe Martino.

Joe is the main creative mind behind JGM Comics, a publisher of comic books and graphic novels, and a cancer survivor.  This has never slowed him down instead he turn his experiences in to the Mighty Titan. Titan is a cancer survivor/superhero.  What a great idea!  I never thought about what it would be like if a hero had to deal with something like this.

To help fund his creations Joe had turned to crowd funding rather than paying out of his own pocket like he normally does.  If this interests you I encourage you to check out his  website, kickstarter, facebook, and follow him on twitter.  Support the kickstarter! It’s time we start showing appreciation for the fine people who have entertained us for so long.

Are you interested in what all Joe Martino had to say? Check out the full interview below:

1. What is JGM Comics?

JGM Comics is the company that I started in 1996 to publish my original Shadowflame mini-series.

2. How long have you been involved with comic books?

I’ve been reading comics since the late 70s. I’ve been creating them since 1995.

3. What got you interested in comic books?

I got interested at a young age. I started reading comics before I was a teen. My mom had gotten me a subscription to Amazing Spider-Man and The Incredible Hulk. That was when the Hobgoblin was introduced. I was hooked. I became a Superman a few years later and still am to this day.

4. Do you draw the comic? If so, did you study somewhere or did you just pick it up over the years?

I do draw. I am not drawing The Mighty Titan as I just don’t have the time. I never really had any formal art training. I just drew a lot as a kid and young adult. I don’t have time to do it as much as I’d like to these days. I am drawing a Titan\Shadowflame crossover that has an awesome Bryan Hitch cover.

5. Do you script them as well?

Yes. I write most of what I do. I actually have a one-shot that I am working on now that Robert Sodaro is co-plotting and scripting with me. It is a character that I created even before Shadowflame named Cyberine. He was in issues 2 and 4 of Shadowflame.

6. Tell us about your Kickstarter.

I am working on funding the second issue of my mini-series “The Mighty Titan”. We actually got funded in 30 hours. So, it is a much different experience than the one I did back in August. That one was tough and we got funded 3 days prior to the end. Titan2CoverKickstarter is very stressful.

7. Why turn to crowdfunding?

I’ve funded every book I’ve ever done from my own pocket. I just wanted to be able to put out a comic without taking food out of my kid’s mouths.

8. Any other projects on the horizon?

A ton. More Shadowflame! More Titan! More Ripperman.  Also, coming soon, “Cyberine” and “Crimson and Caress”! I don’t plan on stopping. I have many more stories to tell.

9. How did you come up with the Mighty Titan?

I came up with The Mighty Titan when I was on disability after my first cancer surgery. I was wondering what it would be like for an invulnerable hero got a terminal disease. I think we all feel invulnerable to a certain extent until one day, with one word, you notitan_i longer feel that way ever again.

10. Is it your plan to make a connected comic book universe?

Yes. I am a big fan of connected heroes. All my heroes will intersect. I am working on a Titan\Shadowflame crossover now. Shadowflame had a bunch of my heroes in it.

11. Do you go to conventions?  What is one of your favorite experiences?

Yes. Not as many as I used to. So far my best experience was a kid coming to find me because he read Shadowflame and wanted to meet me. It sounds trivial but it was really cool to me.

12. Outside of your own, do you have a favorite superhero?

Yes, Superman is my favorite superhero. Bar none.

13. Are there any other thoughts or comments you would like to make?

Just that I am very appreciative to all the fans and people that follow me and support my work. It humbles me that the first Kickstarter funded and that the second one funded in 30 hours. People actually want to read this stuff that I am creating. It is the best feeling in the world. Thank you!

Please check out my links in the side bar!

, , , , , , ,

  1. Indie comic is full of win! The Mighty Titan – Review | Inerded
  2. jgm xdeasqhxtdgs tskfqp | Scribls

Leave a Reply

